1 Comment

NETS-T Standard 1

Andrew Bowen

8-30-12

Technology(SWU)

 

1. Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity

Teachers use their knowledge of subject matter, teaching and learning, and technology to facilitate experiences that advance student learning, creativity, and innovation in both face-to-face and virtual environments.

Teachers:

a. promote, support, and model creative and innovative thinking and inventiveness

b. engage students in exploring real-world issues and solving authentic problems using digital tools and resources

c. promote student reflection using collaborative tools to reveal and clarify students’ conceptual understanding and thinking, planning, and creative processes

d. model collaborative knowledge construction by engaging in learning with students, colleagues, and others in face-to-face and virtual environments

Main Requirements

The requirements of the 1st NETS standard are that the teacher’s objectives in the classroom revolve around thinking, being flexible and real world savvy to help students, understanding how reflection is critical in the learning process, and providing engaging lessons in which students are motivated and goal-oriented.

Self-Evaluation

My self-evaluation revolves around my ability to facilitate and inspire student learning and creativity. A main goal of mine as a teacher is provide satisfactory results that prove student success in whatever subject(s) that I may teach. In order to provide such results, I must inspire my kids. I always start my mornings by giving a morning “pep” talk to my students to try to get them to go the extra mile. I try to tell them that they can do things and be number 1 if they put in the hard work and focus on the subject matter. I believe nothing can limit what my students can grasp from my classroom or me. I believe I facilitate student learning by my constant “with-it-ness” in the classroom. I love to conference one-on-one in math to let the student know what he/she is excelling in and what he/she needs to work on. I believe that I model creative thinking in my classroom on a daily basis through engaging activities and strategic lessons which pinpoint what a student need to know and how he can remember such information through mnemonic devices for example. I love to incorporate real life situations into my classes especially in science. Currently in my weather unit, I am able to bring real-world information like Hurricane Isaac into my lessons on severe weather and how it shows up on a forecast. Through that example, I am able to use technology to allow students to see a map depicting live satellite images of Isaac. Technology provides authentic sources that extend children’s knowledge in my class. I believe I am constantly providing engaging lessons with my students in which maximum student learning is taking place. I work great with colleagues face-to-face but not in a virtual environment. I am beginning to implement Study Island as a virtual interface in which my students can extend their knowledge and engage in meaningful activities/experiments. I use both face-to-face engaging lessons as well as technological engaging lessons/activities.

Strengths/Weaknesses

Some of my strengths for the standard are my ability to provide meaningful content in an engaging way tat will leave a lasting impression, using reflection as a foundational tool in my classroom, and providing real-world issues which make my content relevant in today’s society such as the use of up to date satellite imaging of such storms like the upcoming  HurricaneIsaac which is beginning to hit the cost. I feel I have a strength in making my classroom very practical and useful in society by constantly giving real life experiences of content nature material and how one may use such material in everyday life/society.

Some of my weaknesses for the standard are that technology is used but I could use it in a more effective way in my lessons as an assessment tool, my virtual environment with my peers consists only of emailing back and forth (I could us technology in a better and more effective way when communicating ideas and lessons), and my last weakness is that I limit the use of technology in my class just for purposes of authentic resources when I could be using it as a facilitator, monitor student success, and also experiment tracking tool. I need to work on not limiting myself to just using technology for one thing like this week I just showed a quick visual of the water cycle when I could have let groups of students work together on an online lesson/activity depicting the water cycle which would have been way more engaging.. Those are my weaknesses I will continue to improve during my teaching career.

One comment on “NETS-T Standard 1

  1. Love the title of your blog. Creative.

Leave a Reply

