Leave a comment

NETS-T Standard 3

Andrew Bowen

9-13-12

Technology (SWU)

NETS-T Standard 3

 

3. Model Digital Age Work and Learning

Teachers exhibit knowledge, skills, and work processes representative of an innovative professional in a global and digital society.

Teachers:

a. Demonstrate fluency in technology systems and the transfer of current knowledge to new technologies and situations.

b. Collaborate with students, peers, parents, and community members using digital tools and resources to support student success and innovation.

c. Communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to students, parents, and peers using a variety of digital age media and formats.

d. Model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate, and use information resources to support research and learning

Main Requirement

The main requirement of NETS-T Standard 3 is that teachers use technology in a professional way that shows that the teacher has knowledge and skill in that specific skill inside of the classroom. Teachers should never settle when using the same type of technology. Teachers should always see what works best for their classroom and use that skill for student learning in the classroom. Teachers should use such technology skills to communicate positively with peers, parents, and students. Teachers should use such skills to impact learning in a major way to truly affect student learning.  Lastly, the teacher should model and facilitate the use of digital tools when it impacts research and learning. The teacher should test the quality of the digital tool and how it benefits the students inside and outside of the classroom.

Self-Evaluation

My self-evaluation of NETS-T Standard 3 revolves around my ability to create an innovative professional environment for my students. I believe in the classroom environment and how it has a massive impact on the student. I always put the environment on top regard because it affects my students in every way. I try to incorporate technology as most that I can to make a difference and actually help students. I have several strengths as well as weaknesses in this area. NETS-T Standard 3 is a very important standard to incorporate into one’s teaching philosophy and the everyday activities of the classroom.

Strengths:

My strengths include my knowledge around technology. I love technology and discovering new ways to incorporate it inside of the classroom. I love to use technology as an assessment tool to review one on one with students during my focus groups. This allows me to see the student engaged in a question on a computer and allows me to document if he/she knows what content matter is being assessed or whether I need to further my instruction in that given area. I do not have a Promethean board but I am knowledgeable of its capabilities and impact inside of the classroom. I love modeling throughout the use of a document camera. I feel I have strength in the area of presenting new technology to students and my peer teachers. I love technology and will continue to incorporate it as long as it benefits my students.

Weaknesses:   

My weaknesses revolve around the use of technology to communicate with parents. I know that I need to have constant communication when talking with parents preferably about good things and not bad things. Because I am a first-year teacher, I have a lot to learn about communication with parents. I learned recently about the operation in Word that I can doo when trying to complete the same worksheets with different data included. This will be an ongoing process and I will continually strive to gain confidence in this area and always have lines of communication open with the parents of the students in my class.

Leave a Reply

