Leave a comment

NETS-T Standard 5

Andrew Bowen

9-27-12

Technology (SWU)

NETS-T Standard 5

NETS-T Standard 5: Engage in Professional Growth and Leadership

Teachers continuously improve their professional practice, model lifelong learning, and exhibit leadership in their school and professional community by promoting and demonstrating the effective use of digital tools and resources

Teachers:

  1. Participate in local and global learning communities to explore creative applications of technology to improve student learning
  2. Exhibit leadership by demonstrating a vision of technology infusion, participating in shared decision making and community building, and developing the leadership and technology skills of others
  3. Evaluate and reflect on current research and professional practice on a regular basis to make effective use of existing and emerging digital tools and resources in support of student learning
  4. Contribute to the effectiveness, vitality, and self-renewal of the teaching profession and of their school and community

Main Requirements

The main requirement of NETS-T Standard 5 is that teachers endorse the effective use of digital tools and resources. Teachers can do this by partaking in communities, exhibiting leadership, evaluating current research, and contributing to the profession of teaching. Teachers must show that learning is a life-long process especially when it comes to technology. Teachers need to explore different and creative ways to incorporate technology into the classroom. When they find new and creative ways, teachers should share with other teachers. The reason for sharing is because it is for their students and for student learning and success in the classroom. Teachers must always evaluate current technology that they are using or about to use inside the classroom to be sure the purpose is on task for the students. Teachers shouldn’t just use technology for the sake of saying they use technology, there must be a purpose for their students. Finally, teachers need to promote the use of technology by helping other teachers and promoting technological work they have found effective and allow others to reap such benefits as other teachers have.

Self-Evaluation

My self-evaluation of NETS-T Standard 5 revolves around me showing/modeling myself as a life-long learner. I believe everyone is a life-long learner whether they admit it or not. I always allow my students to teach me material for them to see that I like to learn as well. For my students to see that I enjoy learning, maybe they can incorporate this characteristic and use it for their benefit.  I also like to stay on top of different technological experiences when related to the classroom as well. Collaboration is very important to me as well. I like to share and listen to others share their success stories as well. The most important fact however when dealing with this standard, is for me to model learning as a life-long process and the benefits of it to unleash one’s capabilities for the present and the future.

Strengths:

My strengths include my knowledge on how to use digital tools and my knowledge of resourced to use. I love looking for new and creative ways so I believe that pursuit is a strength of which I will never settle. Another strength is that collaboration is very important to me. I love telling and listening to other teachers and hear their success stories and share my success stories of how effective technology is inside of the classroom and the ways my students benefit from it.

Weaknesses:   

My weakness in this standard is the quantitative outlook of technology in my classroom. I don’t have an abundance of technology, and because of it I sometimes feel like I am not incorporating it enough. That, however, is no excuse and I will continue to try my very best when incorporating effective technological uses inside of my classroom. Also, I wish I could talk/share my viewpoints on a global perspective with other teachers around the world and not just inside of the United States. I will try to move past this weakness and make it a strength in the upcoming weeks.

Leave a Reply

